blog, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, shop/, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, wp, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30,

Jenson Brooksby ‘truly sorry’ after nearly hitting ball person with ATP told to ‘step up’ after another incident

by

Jenson Brooksby took trip to speak to the ball one that was within the firing line when he threw his racket throughout a meltdown on the Miami Open.
American Brooksy got here in for sharp criticism for his behaviour throughout his 3-6, 6-2, 6-3 victory over Federico Coria on Thursday, with many feeling he ought to have been defaulted.
The 21-year-old misplaced his cool whereas 4-1 up within the deciding set as he angrily threw his racket to the bottom and it bounced within the route of the ball particular person, who ducked out of the way in which to keep away from getting hit.

WATCH: McEnroe and Djokovic followers fume as Jenson Brooksby escapes disqualification

He was solely handed a degree penalty regardless of Coria protesting that the punishment ought to have been stricter.
After the match, Brooksby “apologised” to the ball particular person and later added on Instagram that he was “actually sorry”.

“I’m actually sorry for my actions on the market right now. I’ll study from this and proceed to develop on and off court docket. Due to the followers for the help on the market right now! See you on Saturday! Spherical 1 ✅ @miamiopen,” he wrote.
The incident was paying homage to Novak Djokovic’s disqualification from the 2020 US Open when the world No 1 unintentionally hit a linesperson within the throat after returning a ball, with pundits saying Brooksby must also have been defaulted.

There have been comparable incidents involving Alexander Zverev and Nick Kyrgios in current weeks with the previous expelled from the Mexican Open after hitting the umpire’s chair along with his racket whereas Kyrgios was allowed to proceed to play regardless of almost hitting a ball particular person in Indian Wells final week.
Former world No 1 Tracy Austin referred to as on the ATP to “step up”.
Was calling the match-Brooksby threw his racket twice. After dropping 1st set threw arduous on floor in entrance of his chair, ricocheted to Coria’s facet. 2nd time-Ballboys shouldn’t must be leaping out of means of hurling rackets. Kyrgios IW additionally. @atp step up please
— Tracy Austin (@thetracyaustin) March 24, 2022

“Was calling the match-Brooksby threw his racket twice. After dropping 1st set threw arduous on floor in entrance of his chair, ricocheted to Coria’s facet. 2nd time-Ballboys shouldn’t must be leaping out of means of hurling rackets. Kyrgios IW additionally. @atp step up please,” she wrote.
New York Occasions correspondent Christopher Clarey tweeted that Brooksby and Kyrgios ought to have been disqualified.
“This has to cease. The extra you let it slide or slap it on the wrist the extra it is going to improve,” he wrote.
“This, in my ebook, ought to be an computerized default, even when, as in Indian Wells or right here, the ballperson dodged the racket.”
And to me, this falls into the intentional class. He didn’t deliberately goal the ballkid however he did deliberately fling the racket into part of the court docket the place folks could possibly be put in danger.
— Christopher Clarey 🇺🇸 🇫🇷 🇪🇸 (@christophclarey) March 25, 2022

He added: “And to me, this falls into the intentional class. He didn’t deliberately goal the ballkid however he did deliberately fling the racket into part of the court docket the place folks could possibly be put in danger.”

Leave a Comment