FEATURE: Tennis greats who won the Queen’s Club title


Because the 2019 Queen’s Membership Championship will get underway, it might be simple to mistake this competitors as only a Wimbledon warm-up, however Lynsey Thompson reveals the tennis legends who’ve made it far more than that.
In truth, this prestigious event, which has been operating for nearly 140 years, was voted ATP Match of the Yr between 2013 – 2016 and once more in 2018, whereas former four-time Champion Andy Roddick as soon as known as the courts on the Queen’s Membership “arguably the very best on the earth”.
Let’s check out a number of the tennis greats who’ve shone at Queen’s Membership and brought the Championship title.
John McEnroe
4-time Queen’s Membership winner McEnroe performed the event on the peak of his profession whereas he was the top-ranked singles participant on the earth.
McEnroe made the ultimate an unbelievable seven years in a row between 1978 – 1984, shedding to Tony Roche in 1979 and twice to his nice rival Jimmy Connors in 1982 and 1983. Which, by the way, are the one years Connors received the title.
McEnroe holds the document for essentially the most wins on the event (42) and likewise accomplished the Queen’s Membership-Wimbledon double title in 1981 and once more in 1984.
As you’ll count on with McEnroe, it wasn’t all plain crusing, as in 1985 he was requested to resign his membership of the Queen’s Membership as a consequence of alleged delinquent language on a apply courtroom which acquired quite a few complaints, most notably from the chairman’s spouse.
Boris Becker

4-time Queen’s Membership winner, Becker received the title for the primary time in 1985, which was his first ever top-level singles title aged solely 17.
He nonetheless holds the document for the youngest Champion on the event and famously went on to win Wimbledon two weeks later as the primary unseeded and first German participant to win the Grand Slam.
Becker subsequently took the Queen’s Membership title once more in 1987, 1988 and once more in 1996 the place he beat his huge rival Stefan Edberg.
Ivan Lendl
Lendl, though winner of eight main titles, was annoyed by his lack of success on grass and particularly failing to win Wimbledon throughout the peak of his profession.
After reaching the Wimbledon semi-finals in 1983, 1984, 1988 and 1999 and shedding the ultimate in 1986 and 1987 in straight units, he particularly switched his racket and tailored his recreation with a purpose to enhance and subsequently received the Queen’s Membership title in 1989.
Lendl selected to skip the 1990 French Open with a purpose to match in additional grass apply and went on to beat McEnroe within the semi-final and Becker within the closing to carry the Queen’s Membership trophy once more in 1990.
Nevertheless, he didn’t take this kind into Wimbledon in the identical yr, shedding within the semi-final to Edberg. Wimbledon stays the one grand slam that eluded the nice participant.
Pete Sampras

Twice winner and twice runner-up, Sampras received the Queen’s Membership title in 1995 and once more in 1999, and in each circumstances went on to win Wimbledon in the identical yr.
Within the 1999 closing he broke British hearts by beating Tim Henman, who was the primary homegrown participant within the closing of the event for 25 years.
Sampras misplaced the Queen’s Membership closing in 2000 to approaching star Lleyton Hewitt who would quickly dominate the competitors, successful the title for the following 3 consecutive years and once more in 2006.
Andy Murray
The one participant to ever win the Queen’s Membership Championship 5 occasions and the primary British participant to win it for 70 years.
Murray defied all odds when he took the title for the primary time in 2009, then received it once more in 2011, 2013, 2015 and 2016 – backing it up with Wimbledon crowns in 2013 and 2016.
After his well-documented return from surgical procedure, Murray returns to Queen’s Membership this yr taking part in doubles with Spanish Feliciano Lopez.
Lopez has loved his personal success within the singles event, as a runner up in 2014 and taking the title in 2017 on the age of 35, making him the oldest participant to ever win the Queen’s Membership Championship.
Lynsey Thompson
Observe us on Twitter @T365Official and like our Fb web page.
Extra from Tennis365:

Leave a Comment